About  |   Legal  |   Contact  |   Resources  |   Home  |                     mainsleazespam.com
I found this web site while seaching http://news.google.com for "CAN SPAM" news on
February 12, in the morning. A few hours later, it was unreachable. It appeared
again later in the day, but by evening only produced a prompt for a login ID and 
password. I posted the following question to news.admin.net-abuse.email usenet 
newsgroup.

These guys were hiding behind some really strict security. When you tried the URL shortly after the site
first appeared, you were prompted for user ID and password. ID = icanspam and PW = icanspam worked 
as of 2/13/2004. The site was unreachable when I checked again on March 12, 2004. 
I am still not convinced this wasn't a spoof or satire on spammers and cons.

=======================================================================
Decide for yourself:This has got to either be a wicked piece of satire, or a con to con the 
   http://www.icanspam.com ]spammers. Anybody familiar with this? Know who or what is behind this?

http://www.icanspam.com/

Thank you for your interest in iCANSPAM.    
For Help with your account, billing, 
or other customer service issues contact: customerservice@iCANSPAM.com 
For Technical questions contact: webmaster@iCANSPAM.com 
For Business Development inquiries contact: BizDev@iCANSPAM.com 
All Media inquiries should be directed to: iCANSPAM
22 Passaic Ave, 6A
Nutley, NJ 07110
(973) 464-9574
press@iCANSPAM.com
All other questions or comments should be directed to: info@iCANSPAM.com 

Registrant:   
LiveSyndicate LLC   
22 Passaic AVe, 6A   
Nutley, New Jersey 07110  
United States   
Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)   
Domain Name: ICANSPAM.COM      
Created on: 19-Jan-04      
Expires on: 19-Jan-05      
Last Updated on: 30-Jan-04   
Administrative Contact:      Carnahan, Sam  sam@livesyndicate.com      
LiveSyndicate LLC      
22 Passaic AVe, 6A      
Nutley, New Jersey 07110      United States      9734649574   
Technical Contact:      Carnahan, Sam  sam@livesyndicate.com      
LiveSyndicate LLC      
22 Passaic AVe, 6A      
Nutley, New Jersey 07110      United States      9734649574   
Domain servers in listed order:      
NS1.ABAC.COM      
NS2.ABAC.COM

========================================================================= Someone pointed out after the site started requiring a password and ID that you could get in with ID = icanspam, password = icanspam. Really strict. That was as of February 12=13, 2004. As someone else pointed out in the newsgroup nanae: ========================================================================= A "wget -d -d http://www.icanspam.com" shows that they are requesting authentication using the Windows "NT Lan Manager" mechanism. Which means they're running some variant of Microshit IIS. Here are the full headers: Content-Length: 1656 Content-Type: text/html Server: Microsoft-IIS/6.0 WWW-Authenticate: Negotiate WWW-Authenticate: NTLM X-Powered-By: ASP.NET MicrosoftOfficeWebServer: 5.0_Pub Date: Fri, 13 Feb 2004 04:28:13 GMT Connection: keep-alive =========================================================================