About  |   Legal  |   Contact  |   Resources  |   Home  |                     mainsleazespam.com
     Reported Best Buy Spam Email

       Best Buy: CAN-SPAM compliant Mainsleaze
   [The following quotes a usenet newsgroup article found in news.admin.net-abuse.email]
From InactiveX666@hotmail.com Sat Apr 24 06:18:54 2004
Path: monger.newsread.com!news-toy.newsread.com!netaxs.com!newsread.com!newsprint.newsread.com!prodigy.com!prodigy.com!atl-c02.usenetserver.com!c03.atl99!c01.usenetserver.com!news.usenetserver.com!elnk-atl-nf1!elnk-nf2-pas!newsfeed.earthlink.net!stamper.news.pas.earthlink.net!newsread1.news.pas.earthlink.net.POSTED!c9b6c765!not-for-mail
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: Ciro The Spider-Man
Subject: Best Buy: CAN-SPAM compliant Mainsleaze
Reply-To: domino@asgardnet.org
X-No-Ahbou: Yes
Message-Id:
User-Agent: slrn/0.9.7.4 (FreeBSD)
Lines: 58
Date: Sat, 24 Apr 2004 03:27:24 GMT
NNTP-Posting-Host: 207.30.169.168
X-Complaints-To: abuse@earthlink.net
X-Trace: newsread1.news.pas.earthlink.net 1082777244 207.30.169.168 (Fri, 23 Apr 2004 20:27:24 PDT)
NNTP-Posting-Date: Fri, 23 Apr 2004 20:27:24 PDT
Organization: EarthLink Inc. -- http://www.EarthLink.net
Xref: news-toy.newsread.com news.admin.net-abuse.email:2397477

Somehow, it doesn't surprise me that the first CAN-SPAM mainsleaze I see
is from them. Too bad for them that I decided when I stopped working
there not to give these people any more of my money (they're far too
fond of screwing over their customers).

The spam just consists of one link and then the huge "We're spamming you
because we can" blurb below. They make no bones about it.

Since I don't care about the earthlink acct anyway, I tried the opt-out
link. Unsurprisingly, they gave me that old "Takes 10 days to get off
the list" crap.

-C

----Start

Return-Path:
Received: from mailer01.postfuture.com ([64.5.35.22])
by killdeer (EarthLink SMTP Server) with SMTP id 1bfTex6Li3NZFlr1
for ; Tue, 20 Apr 2004 04:16:09-0700 (PDT)
Message-Id: <307qlb$4e56tn@ironport.postfuture.com>
To:
From: "Best Buy"
Subject: 2 DVDs for $15 + Free Shipping
Reply-To: "Best Buy"
Errors-To: PPBounces@postfuture.com
List-Unsubscribe:
http://bestbuy.postfuture.com/P/v3/r.asp?r=T1_OOT&e=
Date: Tue, 20 Apr 2004 06:13:49 CDT
X-PF-ERID: 1117%3B573289%3B491669898
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----+PF_1117%3B573289%3B491669898_1"

[snip]
This e-mail is a Best Buy advertisement. You received this e-mail
because you may have provided information to us in the past. If you
no longer wish to receive marketing e-mails from us and would like
to be removed from our e-mail list, click the link below to
unsubscribe. You may also send an e-mail to
PrivacyManager@bestbuy.com or send a letter to Best Buy Corporate
Campus, 7601 Penn Avenue South, Richfield, MN 55423-3645,
Attention: Customer Care/Privacy. Please include your current
contact information within your request, including your name,
mailing address, phone number and e-mail address, and indicate that
you wish to stop receiving Best Buy marketing e-mails.

--
Yeah really, if someone is going to pick a fight on Internet, THIS is
no place to expect to win it. Too bad the shattered corpses of the
past don't stack up for such losers to see.
-Quaestor on NANAE